Lemon Layer Cake with Lemon Curd

My mom actually wanted me to try making a cake with whipped cream so that I can learn myself how to work w whipping cream. At the same time I was very eager to do sth with lemon, so I decided to make this one. It didnt turn out absolutely perfect because I did not follow every-single requirement from the original recipe πŸ˜› However, the final work still turned out great, not over-sweet, lovely tanginess from the lemon curd, creamy whipped cream. Oh just thinking about it makes me crave the cake again 😦 For those that prefer a sweeter taste, increase the amount of sugar for the lemon curd and the whipped cream πŸ˜‰

The original recipe (Lemon layer cake with lemon curd and mascarpone) is from Bon AppΓ©tit, April 03 issue but I modified them a bit during the process. For example I didnt use any mascarpone, and I always use less than the required amount of sugar πŸ˜› Here is the recipe that I used, not the original one.

Ingredients:
Lemon curd
Sugar – 200gr
Fresh lemon juice – 3 large
Eggs – 3 large
Egg yolks – 3 large
Chilled unsalted butter – 50gr –Β  cut into 1/2-inch cubes

Cake
Eggs – 6 large –Β  separated
Sugar – 14 tbs
Sifted cake flour (sifted, then measured) – 1 3/4 cups
Salt – 1/4 ts

Filling and frosting
Heavy whipping cream, chilled – 500ml
Sugar – 150gr

Preparations:
For lemon curd:
– Whisk first 4 ingredients in medium heat-proof bowl (or metal bowl is fine)

– Set bowl over a saucepan of simmering water (do not allow bottom of bowl to touch water).

Whisk constantly until thickened, about 10 minutes. It took me more than 10, maybe 12-14 mins or sth.

– Remove bowl from over water. Add butter, whisk until melted.

– Set aside to cool down, then wrap the bowl w plastic wrap n chill in the fridge. Change the wrap once in a while to prevent waterdrops.

For cake:
– Preheat oven to 375Β°F. Prepare two 18-20cm-pans for the cake

– Beat egg yolks and 7 tablespoons sugar in large bowl until mixture is very thick and slowly dissolving ribbons form when beaters are lifted, about 4 minutes.

– Using clean dry beaters, beat whites in another large bowl until soft peaks form.

Add remaining 7 tablespoons sugar, 1 tablespoon at a time, beating until stiff and glossy.

– Fold half of whites into yolk mixture, then sift half of flour and 1/4 teaspoon salt over and gently fold in until incorporated.

– Fold in remaining whites, then sift remaining flour over and fold in just until combined, being careful not to deflate batter.

– Divide batter between pans; smooth tops. Bake until tester inserted into center of cakes comes out clean, about 15 minutes. Cool in pans on racks.

– Run knife around edge of pans to loosen cakes. Invert cakes onto 9-inch-diameter cardboard rounds, tapping on work surface if necessary to release cakes.

– Cut each cake horizontally in half (layers will be thin). Peel off parchment.

For filling and frosting:
– Beat whipping cream and sugar in large bowl until peaks form.

– Add 1 cup of lemon curd to the whipped cream, gently fold until blended.

Resemble the cake:

– Place 1 cake layer, flat side up, on platter. Spread 1/4 lemon curd over, then 1/6 whipped cream mixture.

– Repeat with second n third cake layer (cake -> lemon curd – > whipped cream).

The inside should look like this:

– Top with fourth cake layer. Spread remaining lemon curd over.

Cover the whole cake with the remained whipped cream, smooth out top n sides of the cake.

(I used a .. fork and a knife πŸ˜› It’s my very first time frosting a cake, not very easy but I really liked it πŸ˜€ feel like making a masterpiece haha)

– Refrigerate before serving.

Notes:

The original recipe calls for lemon sirup made from fresh lemon juice, sugar and boiling water but I omitted this step, mostly because I was lazy πŸ˜€ But even if I hadn’t been so lazy, I actually ran out of lemon πŸ˜€ lol

– For the cake, here I posted using “cake flour”, which is what the original recipe calls for. However I used all purpose flour, and my cake didnt turn out that great, it was not moist enough, a little bit cakey I think πŸ˜•

—> U guys remember to use cake flour okay?!? And also, don’t be as lazy as me, make the lemon sirup cause I think this also gives the cake more moist and makes it more tender n more lemony.

– And last but not least, yes it took time making this layer cake, but it’s worth every tiny bit of ur effort, so jump into ur kitchen n try it out asap !!!! πŸ˜€

This entry was published on March 2, 2009 at 2:11 pm. It’s filed under Baked Goods, Cake., Fruits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Lemon Layer Cake with Lemon Curd

  1. chi Mai on said:

    Oh God, that is so yummy!!! I am so hungryyyyyy. You are really a genius cook, aren’t u?

  2. hehe I made tiramisu on 2nd March, kinda layer cake lol… we r such a couple :))

    btw, I failed with cream puff and macaroons last week T___T and I hate frosting a cake :((, just can’t make it flat and smoothT__T

  3. Pingback: Lemon Yogurt Cake « Let’s Jump to The Kitchen

  4. Ha Le on said:

    Nhi`n ngon chet di duoc m oiiiiiiii!!! ^^……Hom nao` day t se la`m thu mo’n na`y……Mo’i phet kem lan dau ma` la`m dep phet :D……Tao chi biet la`m co’ moi Tiramisu thoi :)).

Leave a Reply

