Satay Chicken w Glutinous Rice

I am going to leave this place very soon (well for those who are curious, roughly 3 months 😀 haha) and in my kitchen there’re still so many things untouched, or unfinished: some vercimelli, some rice noodle, some paste, powder or sauce. I still have half of the satay bottle left so I decided to do sth w them. I just want to clear up my kitchen as soon as possible 😀
Recently I extremely love cooking chicken 😀 lol I really don’t know why but whenever I think of sth new to cook, I think about chicken. While I almost go blank thinking of options to cook w pork or beef, I can see there’re numerous ways to cook with chicken. Everytime we change the amount of seasoning, or add sth, it turns out a total new dish.

This time I use satay 😉

You guys all know satay chicken, huh? The very famous n popular dish with chicken skewers n satay sauce that origins from Thailand … Well I’m so sorry I disappoint u guys, this is not that satay chicken, this is MY satay chicken, u can call it Minh Chau’s Satay Chicken if u like :)) pretty long huh :)) lol

Yes I used chicken. Yes I used satay. And yes I call it satay chicken. But it’s cooked totally different 😀 Let’s go check it out!!!

Here comes the recipe for MY satay chicken 😀 Serve 1

Ingredients:
Chicken – 1 thigh/drumstick/skinless breast – whatever part of chicken u have 😀
Satay – 1 heaping tbs
Salt – 2ts
Sugar – 2ts
Vinegar – 1 ts

Glutinous rice – 75-100gr, cooked

Preparation:
– Make shallow cuts on both sides of the chicken piece (I had a thigh). Drizzle each side with 1 ts of salt n 1 of sugar. Add in 1tbs of satay, remember to press some of the satay mixture get into the shallow cuts on the chicken. Leave for about 15 mins

– (like usual – Oh i’m getting reaaally bored w this word now 😦 really) Heat pan. Once hot add 2 ts of oil

– Add in the marinated chicken, turn the heat to medium high. Brown both side of the chicken. Then turn the heat to medium, and close the pan with the lid, the make sure that the chicken is cooked thoroughly.

During the cooking process, the pan my get too dry and this may burn the chicken. u can add very little water to prevent this.

– When the chicken is almost done, pour in the vinegar, make sure the chicken is coated thoroughly.Turn up the heat to dehydrate any liquid left in the pan. U’re done 😀

This entry was published on February 21, 2009 at 12:47 am. It’s filed under Chicken and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Satay Chicken w Glutinous Rice

  1. It is my first time I visit here. I came across countless interesting stuff in your blog especially its discussion. With the numerous comments on your reports, I guess I’m not the only one having all of the enjoyment here! Keep up the excellent work.

Leave a Reply

