Egg White Cake

I have 4 egg whites left after making the cream puff n the cheesecake brownie (recipe will be posted later) so I was trying to find some recipe that uses up the 4 egg whites left in the fridge 😀 Yes, like any usual baker I first thought of macaroon/meringue/langue de chat/tuile/pavlova. The point was I didnt feel like making any of them. Pavlova would be solely a huge meringue without fruit n whipped cream. Meringue is too sweet :-s And for the other 3 it’s too hard (for me) to make sure I can make perfect baked goods. I was baking for my friend, so it’s better not taking any risk 😀

Luckily I found this Egg White Cake from Nami-Nami. It requires very few ingredients and is so simple to make. The recipe yields a cake that is somewhat like sponge but lighter I think. UHm, thinking about making a chiffon – the one famous for being extremely light n moist. The only burden is that I dont have any chiffon pan in hand 😦 Kinda worried if my normal cake pan can hold the “sky-rise” of a normal chiffon 😦

Anyway, go get ur eggs now n set ready 😉

Ingredients: (in the original recipe)

Egg whites – 6 large
Caster sugar – 250gr
All-purpose flour – 160 gr
Potato starch or cornflour – 1 heaped Tbs (I didnt have this in hand so I simply take flour instead 😀 It worked just fine, dont worry :D)
Baking powder – 1 tsp
Butter – 100 g – melted, slightly cooled

(I just use 2/3 of the ingredients listed above cause I only had 4 egg whites)

Preparation:

– Oven 180C degrees

– Whisk the egg whites with 2 tbs of sugar until thick, pale and very foamy.

– Mix the rest of the sugar with flour, potato starch and baking powder, then sift into the egg mixture and fold in gently.

– Finally fold in cool melted butter.

*** Remember to fold the flour mixture n the melted butter in as GENTLY as possible or ur cake’s gonna turn out f.l.a.t !!!!

– Pour the batter into a buttered bundt-form

– Bake in a pre-heated oven for 30-40 minutes.

Test for doneness with a wooden toothpick. Cool slightly before turning out of the cake tin. The cake should come out very soft n moist.

This entry was published on February 12, 2009 at 3:51 am. It’s filed under Baked Goods, Cake. and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Egg White Cake

  1. Cac’ mon’ cau. lam trong that la hap dan :”>

  2. Davy Bonte on said:

    Tried the cake for the first time after having made 200 profiteroles for christmas 09. Its easy to make, very spongy and keeps for a while too. goes well with a cup of tea… I flavoured mine with a vanilla pod.

Leave a Reply

