The 2nd version of Nem – Vietnamese spring roll

There have been so many names for our Vietnamese “nem” when it comes to …globalized πŸ˜€ lol People call our “Nem” egg rolls, spring rolls, blah blah n blah blah. Why dont we just call them Nem(s) – as they’ve always been, in their most original state? U know, just like in Vietnam we call pizzas “Pizza”, spaghetti “Spaghetti”, or burgers “Burger”- I think we should show the same level of appreciation to our Vietnamese food as they’re going international. Why change? Those’re THEIR names πŸ™‚ For Vietnamese nem, u can call them “nem” or “chαΊ£ giΓ²” – the two refer to the same thing, the only difference is that one (nem) is familiar to people in the North, while the other is often used by people in the South.

This time I made a more vegie version of Nem πŸ˜› Still remember last time mom was telling me “Oh Bi, ur nems have so much …protein” lol πŸ˜€ haha And yeh, I also think that the previous version had kinda too high meat/vegie ratio πŸ˜€

Ingredients:

Mince pork – 200gr

Onion – 2/3 large

Carrot – 2 small or 1 large

Mushroom

Wood-ear – 2 large or 3 medium

Egg – 2 small

Salt – 1 1/2 ts

Sugar – 1/2 ts

Pepper – 1 ts

Fish sauce – 2 or 3 ts (or 1 tbs)

Method:

Similar to the first Nem I made

This is the fillings for the nem. I was too lazy to take the photos earlier, so by the time the pic was taken, there’s only a little left πŸ˜›

The nems after rolled, waiting to be fried. *Pls dont laugh at me for making them not so good-looking* :-s

*Notes

-I think this vegie-increased version tastes a lot more balanced than the meat version of nem πŸ˜€

– Again, this is still not the true version of a real nem, but I think this time it resembles the originals more than the previous recipe πŸ˜›

– And dont forget, seasoning is really to taste. The amounts of salt, pepper, fish sauce n sugar here are only for reference.

This entry was published on November 29, 2008 at 9:22 pm. It’s filed under Pork/ Beef and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “The 2nd version of Nem – Vietnamese spring roll

  1. No, they aren’t not-good-looking at all. I mean, they look great πŸ˜‰ Yummy

  2. Hi Chau;

    I think this recipe looks great.
    I tried to do it once before myself, but it was a total failure :((
    What do you dip it in?
    Worchestershire sauce, or a sweetened fish sauce?

    I love your lemon cake recipes as well, cant wait to try them out.

  3. What type of paper do yoy use to roll them, rice paper?

    • galantine2612 on said:

      Yes I used rice paper, but on the market there are so many different versions of rice paper. The Chinese ones are different from the Vietnamese ones. Even in Vietnam and China rice paper comes in varieties. The ones I used were brought in Vietnam, look like this http://www.bacthanh.com/Admin/Editor/uploadfile/20090905154649259.jpg (called “Banh Da Nem” – translated in to English means “Rice Paper for Spring Rolls”). Are you trying to make this? I am glad you stopped by and had a look at my blog πŸ™‚ Thank you

Leave a Reply

